This is bloody important – read it…

I have a bit of a reputation for avoiding blog hops, memes and doing arty things with my kids so prepare yourselves as I am about to attempt to do all three in one blog post.

Before I lose your interest let me tell you why:

“No child is born to die, but 8 million children under five die every year from illnesses we know how to treat or prevent, such as diarrhoea and pneumonia. In the 21st century, this is utterly wrong.”

These are words from the Save the Children Campaign. On the 13th June, the UK hosts a Global Immunisation summit, Save the Children aim to place pressure on those attending to increase funding for immunisation.  Next week my daughter will have her MMR so I don’t need to lose any sleep about her contradicting any preventable diseases; not all mothers are lucky enough to be able to say that.

Supporting this campaign is simple just add your name to the on-line petition; it takes five seconds to do and you don’t have to be a blogger to do it you just need to be a normal human being with a desire to live in a better world.

I have three children, my twins are five and my baby is about to turn one.  I tried to explain the concept of this blog post to them.  Twin Boy grasped it quickly when he said, 

“so children are deaded when they don’t get injections that we get because no one has any pennies in poor places.  Why does it cost pennies mummy can’t they have it for free?”   – Not the most eloquent but he has a point…

The delightful Maggie over at RedTedArt and Josie over at Sleep is for the Weak have started this fantastic meme in order to raise awareness of the campaign.  Because Maggie is a direct descendant from Tony bloody Hart she has ‘encouraged’ the blogging community to ‘encourage’ their children to draw of craft a picture of themselves now or in the future.  Now over at Northernmum we don’t do much crafting that is a bit of a school thing as I have fearofplaydohitis but we do draw and this is what my little ones came up with.

 Twin girl wants to be a princess when she grows up and marry a prince like her Daddy.

Twin Boy wanted to draw a policeman and a footballer and a robber but then he decided that he just wanted to grow up alive so would just draw a picture of himself.

And BB, well she is a bit little to start drawing but she wanted to put her hand in!  (I know Maggie is proud of me now….)

This campaign is bloody important – if you didn’t click the link before please click it now – IT’S HERE.

Right now for the bloggy bit. 

I was tagged by the lovely Imperfect Pages, my rather fabulous friend HelloitsGemma, and the very pretty and pregnant Mummylimited – Thanks ladies.

I am tagging:

Mothersalwaysright

MummyMummyMum

CircusQueen

Looking for Blue Sky

Not even a bag of Sugar

Sticky Fingers

Super Amazing Mum

Tea With One Sugar

You need to…

1) Get your child to either draw or craft a self portrait of themselves now or in the future. (don’t worry they don’t have to be as good as mine)
2)Sign the Save the Children petition (here) to support full funding for vaccinations and then pass it onto your friends
3) Write a blog post about it as soon as possible, including info about Save the Children and the petition. We want as many people linked up at the Fabulous Red Ted Art, and signed up the petition by Sunday 29th May 2011.
4) Tag 8 fellow blogger friends
5) Come back and link up your posts, – you can do that at Maggie’s at RedTedArt
6) If you have time, visit each other posts and say hello!

If you were paying attention at the beginning you would have noticed I said I was doing three new things a meme, crafts and bloghop – I failed!  I can’t do the blog hop so please go see Maggie to read more cracking posts.

Thanks all

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Red Ted Art
    May 24, 2011 @ 20:07:04

    You do make me chuckle! Yes I am proud – love the baby hand. Love that the twin boy wanted to be everything and doesn’t every little girl want to marry her daddy…? Brilliant crafts. Brilliant post…. what else to be expected from the MAD blogger of the year finalist 😉

    And I used to LOVE Tony Hart as a child. I LOVE that comment. Am truly honoured…

    Maggy x

    Reply

  2. Teawithonesugarplease
    May 24, 2011 @ 20:18:37

    Thanks for Tag, think I will have my work cut out with the two year old twins to drawer/craft something decent without harming each other with crayons! Will try my best

    Reply

  3. helloitsgemma
    May 24, 2011 @ 20:43:13

    Twin boy did not disappoint.
    You did not disappoint, you truly are a Super Mother – the woman can do it all! The kids are surprised, I’m surprise, Maggy is probably drinking gin – such is her surprise.
    Love this! and I love you just that little bit more….. X

    Reply

  4. Blue Sky
    May 24, 2011 @ 22:51:09

    I used to love Tony Hart and I think he would like these pictures too 🙂 I love this meme (and your title lol) and I have a post up already. Thanks so much for the tag xx

    Reply

  5. Molly @ Mother's Always Right
    May 25, 2011 @ 05:59:52

    Love the pictures – I’ve now been tagged twice on this so better get cracking. Can’t wait to see what Frog will come up with! x

    Reply

  6. mummymummymum
    May 25, 2011 @ 08:50:41

    I’m feeling the pressure! what to do with baby H…..

    Reply

  7. Jenny
    May 25, 2011 @ 21:15:53

    Hi Jane!

    Great post. Was lovely to meet you this afternoon. I’m very tired from running round the shop floor after my little one…. hope your two enjoyed themselves.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Art, crafts and immunisations | Mother's Always Right

Leave a comment

wikio

Wikio - Top Blogs - Parenting

Mumsnet

mumsnet bloggers network

Tots 100 badge

TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs
familyholidays.co.uk

copyright

Copyright © Jane Blackmore and Northernmum, 2010-2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jane Blackmore and Northernmum with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Site Meter