Do not, I repeat, do not tell social services

We have had a rather splendid day, playing, building bird nests and having cuddles.  Ok we did have meltdown of supreme proportions when twin girl ‘accidently’ elbowed twin boy in the eye and we also had affection of even extreme proportions when twin boy and girl demonstrated their love for each other.  Let me explain….

I heard them giggling down the stairs and I smiled inwardly loving the fact that my children were playing perfectly together.  I was sitting with baby beautiful watching her throw sweet potato and turkey around the floor saving me the problem of feeding the dopey hound later.   I heard them approach the dining room and they were holding hands, an image any twin mother revels in.  I almost popped open with pride.

They came in the room, smiling like angels, happily whispering together. “Mummy,” said twin girl, ‘look at me and Owen, we love each other so much.”  The tears started to prick at my eyes, I love being part of this harmonious family.

“Watch mummy” grinned Twin boy “I am going to kiss and hug my sister”

These thoughts ran through my mind as I watched my two five year olds cuddle. “Clearly I am a marvellous mother, how else can one create such adorable creatures, clearly I am a perfect parent, my children don’t fight they kiss and hug”

Twin boy and girl broke from their hug and looked at each other and then twin boy leaned in for the kill.  With mouths wide open he and twin girl proceeded to attempt what could have only been described in my youth as a full on snog.

Too shocked to speak my mouth hung open like the entrance to a cavernous cave.

“We saw it on the tele.” whooped twin girl.

Christ alive, note to self never sneakingly watch the soaps when you think they are playing quietly, they miss nothing, they have eyes everywhere.

Please don’t tell social services but I made them show he who helped create them (who almost choked on a cocktail of laughter and shock) before trying to re-educate my kids!

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Honest Mum
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 17:40:15

    Too funny and oh so normal. I’m sure I tried to snog my brother as child too! Think was after an episode of the oh so child friendly Neighbours.

    Reply

  2. Kylie Hodges (kykaree)
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 17:42:39

    So funny!!! Bless em!

    Reply

  3. CaroleHolland
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 17:46:56

    Haha bless them 🙂 My nephew tried to do that to me when he was about 6. His mum was horrified XD

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Tweets that mention Do not, I repeat, do not tell social services « Northern Mummy with Southern Children -- Topsy.com
  5. ChocOrangeCityMum
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 18:11:21

    Hilarious!! First post I have ever tweeted!!

    I was expecting the usual, they fell over and have a big bump on head – this was way better, what a story to roll out at their 18th, 21st, wedding etc, I don’t think this one will ever get old!! 🙂

    Please have a look at my blog if you are interested – I am a newbie!
    http://chocorangecitymum.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  6. The Moiderer
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 18:25:18

    ROFL again and again

    Reply

  7. JulieB
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 19:19:03

    Ok, sorry if this is completely off the wall, but what really made me laugh was the tags on this post! 😉

    Reply

  8. TheMadHouse
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 19:19:11

    Yep very normal. My 4 and 5 year old boy were sat in the bath sucking each others tongues tonight (oh and the horror this morning in bed when Mini asked me to scratch his bum as it made his finger smell)!

    Reply

  9. Elsie Button
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 19:29:06

    very funny! i remember trying to do the same to my brother when we were about that age. it left him completely traumatised

    Reply

  10. Ness
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 19:31:25

    Almost just peed my pants laughing!

    Reply

  11. Justine
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 19:46:17

    Love it you have cheered me up no end! xx

    Reply

  12. cakeandteablog
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 19:58:30

    Hilarious! I showed my husband and he actually cried laughing- a rare honour!

    Reply

  13. notSupermum
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 19:58:55

    Hahaha!!! *looks for phone number of social services*

    Reply

  14. Sally
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 20:10:22

    Totally normal. Just like when Flea tried to hump her Grandad’s leg this weekend. Yep. Totally normal. Right?

    Reply

  15. LincolnAndMe
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 20:25:09

    Pmsl!! Oh how I love your posts! So funny!
    Mary
    x

    Reply

  16. Jenny paulin
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 20:28:10

    Omg how funny! Bless them. Let’s hope that has been nipped in the bud 🙂

    Reply

  17. Michelle Twin Mum
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 20:39:31

    OMG, that is a scene I would like to have seen – not them snogging you realise but the shock on yours and hubbys faces!

    I few years back JJ sat on the sofa, pulled his PJ bottoms down and said tickle me mummy with a perky little sausgae looking up at me! I asked why to be told ‘it feels nice’. We had the it’s Ok to touch your own willy but in private conversation!

    Mich x

    Reply

  18. Alli Marshall
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 20:50:20

    At least it’s just kissing, my daughter (7) & stepson (6) showed me their new bath time game; ss lay on d and they then slid up & down in bath together, then ss stood up to show off his willy!
    Bathtime finished immediately & they no longer bathe together!

    Reply

  19. Crystal Jigsaw
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 20:52:25

    I guess I’d have reacted with shock too, but it is normal for kids to explore this behaviour. And when you think about it, I suppose the affection is the most important, not the actual kissing! Remind them of this when they’re both 18. Cringe worthy, I’m sure!!

    CJ xx

    Reply

  20. Gigi (MumsRock)
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 21:04:10

    Hilarious. I’ll be chuckling about that one for a while I think!

    Reply

  21. Geekymummy
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 03:17:44

    Hilarious! And normal. At least it is in my house too.

    Reply

  22. Mrs Scruff
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 09:54:47

    laughing! its actually really rather sweet…but yes perhaps because they are 5, not 15!

    Reply

  23. Mañana Mama
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:25:25

    Ah hilarious as ever, a good reminder to fear the tele!
    ~M

    Reply

  24. Susan (@gourmetmummy)
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 12:09:21

    LOL! My 5&3 yr old are ademant that they are going to get married!

    Reply

  25. Gemma
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 14:23:00

    OMG, that’s so funny! You’ve made my day!
    My 3yo asked her Daddy how he got the claw marks on his forehead yesterday (referring to his slight wrinkles). He told her he had a fight with a bear who tried to take his lunch when he was a boy. Only out of the mouths of babes….

    Reply

  26. JallieDaddy
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 21:29:03

    Funny! I won’t tell, I promise

    My baby boy tried to do that to me once. You know those extreme close-ups of Homer Simpson ‘going in for the kill’, mouth wide open, to Marge? It looked very like that. Quite un-nerving. And spitty :O

    Reply

  27. lotusflowerlily
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 21:22:28

    So funny, only today my 2 who are 6 and 3. kissed goodnight, with the snogging head movement! then proceeded to roll around the floor entangled. took me a while to seperate them.

    Reply

  28. Trackback: A MADs Carnival – Family Life and Most Inspiring Bloggers « Cooking, Cakes & Children

Leave a comment

wikio

Wikio - Top Blogs - Parenting

Mumsnet

mumsnet bloggers network

Tots 100 badge

TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs
familyholidays.co.uk

copyright

Copyright © Jane Blackmore and Northernmum, 2010-2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jane Blackmore and Northernmum with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Site Meter